Credit Crunch Bride

Another recession-defying wedding theme: Alice in Wonderland

In cake, Decoration, Dresses, Readings, Themes on March 24, 2009 at 11:51 pm
Alice in Wonderland: the perfect Credit Crunch wedding theme

Alice in Wonderland: the perfect Credit Crunch wedding theme

So, here’s the secret. If your wedding isn’t being planned by The World’s Leading Wedding Planner with a diploma in Co-ordinating Colours, and is rather more of the budget variety, the Alice in Wonderland theme could be for you. It excuses all sorts of ridiculous randomness, wonky home-made cakes, mismatching decorations and strange behaviour. In fact, it encourages it.

Courtesy of Bridalcheek

Courtesy of Bridalcheek

Here’s a few requirements to keep the Cheshire cat grinning and the Mad Hatter sipping:

1. Croquet.

Croquet with flamingoes as mallets and hedgehogs as balls

Croquet with flamingoes as mallets and hedgehogs as balls

2. Wonky wedding cake. Get a friend to make one and encourage her to wonk it up.

3. Top hats. The more ridiculous and ill-fitting the better.

4. Eat me, drink me signs. These can be adapted for any situation throughout your venue. Drive me, follow me, avoid me, wee inside me etc.

5. Ornate tea cups for your very own Mad Hatter’s tea party. Indeed, add a tea party flavour to your canapes with tiny sandwiches and mini scones.

6. Whimsical nonsense such as stopped clocks.

Ushers with stripey socks: a must for all serious Lewis Carroll fans.

Ushers with stripey socks: a must for all serious Lewis Carroll fans.

7. Nonsensical readings such as:

The Bat
Lewis Carroll

Twinkle, twinkle, little bat
How I wonder what you’re at!
Up above the world you fly
Like a tea-tray in the sky.

By Style Me Pretty

By Style Me Pretty

8. Hallucinogenic drugs. Then you can have all the experiences dear Alice had.

Anne Hathaway as the Alice in Wonderland brides muse

Anne Hathaway as the Alice in Wonderland bride's muse

9. Roses. No need to paint them red. That’s officially When A Theme Goes Too Far.

10. Playing Cards as favours. If you do favours, which I don’t. Though if you do, that’s fine too.

  1. Another great thing about #8 is that no one will notice if the band cuts out a little early. :) I do love the idea of an afternoon tea wedding.

  2. Lovely photos! And I forgot all about the bat song.

  3. Oh my gosh, these are fabulous suggestions! I love randomness & odd behavior.

  4. [...] better myself! And pardon my randomness, but I just love the word “wonky.” Check out the full article to see a collection of awesome Alice inspired boards, including the above one with the perhaps the [...]

  5. [...] you are interested in having an Alice in Wonderland themed wedding, this is a site that has good ideas and inspiration in [...]

  6. I really love the blue dress in the first picture box if someone could help me out with where I could find it I would be so greatful.

  7. wedding planners are essentialy needed in every wedding specially if you are a very busy person ..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

